TCL 6 Series/R625 2019 TV Review – RTINGS.com

TCL 6 Series/R625 2019 TV Review – RTINGS.com


Hey everyone, its Ryan here from RTINGS.com
and today we’ll be testing the highly anticipated and much requested TCL 6 series 2019, also
known as the R625. It is a budget-friendly 4k LED TV that tries
to play with the heavy hitters from higher-end companies, such as Samsung and Sony. We’ll also compare it to other TVs in its
price range to see if it’s the best buy for you. We have the 65” version here, but it is
also available in a 55”. We expect the smaller size to have very similar
picture quality with slightly less local dimming zones, which shouldn’t affect picture quality
by any significant margin. The R625 is an updated 6 series TV for 2019
from TCL that adds Quantum Dot technology. It also has a revised design and picture quality
has improved slightly. After looking more into those, we’ll look
at the motion handling, input lag, and sound, and then compare to other competing models
which are currently available. If you’d like to skip straight to our test
results, click the links in the description below. The design of the 6 SERIES 2019 is great. Its definitely an improvement over last years
6 series. The bezels have been reduced on three sides
and the circle power button has been moved to the back so the front gives a clean look. The feet are sturdier and really help the
TV be planted and not wobble. The feet are very wide apart which is great
if you want to fit a soundbar between them, but it means you’ll need an entertainment
cabinet that is as wide as the TV so that it fits on top. Otherwise, you’ll need to wall mount the
TV which isn’t a bad thing because the TV is relatively thin, as you see here, but its
still thicker than most other competing models. The back of the TV has received an updated
glass-like plastic aesthetic that looks more premium than last years. Unfortunately, there is no cable management
on this set so zip ties might be necessary to clean up the wires. The single power button I mentioned just a
moment ago is now behind the TV on the right side and can only change inputs or power the
TV on and off. Using the remote will be the only way to properly
use this TV, but the good thing is the remote is responsive and easy to use. We’ll get into that a little later on. As we look at the front of the display again,
we’ll look at it with our thermal camera. Since this TV utilizes a Full Array Local
Dimming backlight, the LEDs are evenly distributed across the entire screen. It runs slightly warmer than last years R617
but is noticeably cooler than the Hisense H9F. We’ll be comparing the R625 to other TVs currently
available but competing models can change as new TVs are released throughout the year. To stay up to date with the comparisons as
we buy and tests new models, check out the review page on our website linked in the description
below. The contrast ratio is one of the most important
factors for good picture quality. It is the ratio between the measured bright
and dark areas of a scene. This means a TV with a good contrast ratio
has detail in bright and dark areas of a scene, and good black levels. VA type panels usually have good contrast
levels and the 6 SERIES 2019 performs excellently. The local dimming implementation on the 6
SERIES 2019 helps it achieve an almost twice as good contrast ratio from its native contrast,
and is an improvement over last years R617. The Vizio M Series Quantum 2019 and the Hisense
H9F perform a little better than the 6 SERIES 2019 in terms of native contrast, but the
contrast is very similar between the three when local dimming is enabled. This is great because it means black levels
are very black and the TV can still achieve high brightness levels. Speaking of the local dimming, this is also
another thing that was improved since last years R617. All 4 TVs here are able to brighten, dim,
and turn off different parts of the backlight dynamically to improve picture quality. However, each TV handles local dimming a little
differently. Some TVs prefer to raise average black level
to present all details and some do the opposite and crush out small details in favour of better
black levels and better blooming handling. The TCL 6 SERIES 2019 handles subtitles very
well and doesn’t present too much blooming when viewing the screen head on, which is
great. This does mean some details are slightly crushed
and fast moving object are dimmed, but it still does an impressive job limiting these
problems. The local dimming of the R625 is a definite
improvement over last year 6 series, and is better than the Hisense H9F, performing very
similarly to the Vizio M Series Quantum 2019. Black uniformity is an important aspect of
picture quality. Good black uniformity means that dark scenes
will be properly displayed without distracting clouding coming from the backlight. Without local dimming enabled, the 6 SERIES
2019 is excellent and black uniformity only gets better when local dimming is enabled. It outperforms last years TCL 6 series and
the H9F, and is very similar to the Vizio M Series Quantum 2019. Another category local dimming helps with
is brightness. The SDR brightness of the TCL 6 SERIES 2019
is great. The TV can get plenty bright to offset some
glare and it gets to about 570nits in real scenes. Last year’s R617 got brighter than the R625. Despite this small step down in brightness,
it still performs similar to the Hisense H9F and is much better than the Vizio M Series
Quantum 2019. HDR peak brightness is a similar story. First of all, the TCL 6 SERIES 2019 supports
Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HLG HDR formats, just like the Hisense and Vizio. . HDR brightness is important for different
reasons than SDR brightness. The higher dynamic range allows for more detail
in the bright and dark areas of the scene and is important for delivering impactful
and detailed bright highlights. The 6 SERIES 2019 gets bright enough for HDR
content to pop but isn’t as impressive as last years R617 or the Hisense H9F in real
scenes. It is, however, much better than the Vizio
M Series Quantum 2019 and will still be good enough for most people. Let’s move on to gray uniformity. Our gray uniformity test checks for any uniformity
issues with the panel where different pixels are all supposed to display the exact same
color, but may not. This is done by taking a picture of a 50%
gray pattern on each TV. Cloudy spots and other issues present on this
slide are known as the dirty screen effect, which are problematic when playing games or
watching sports which often tend to display uniform colors across the screen. The TCL 6 SERIES 2019 has decent uniformity,
with distracting DSE and noticeable dark edges around the display. This makes it a questionable choice for sports
fans and gamers, because uniform colors are very common in those types of content. This is one aspect of the panel that can vary
between units, so yours might perform differently. If you come across a panel that doesn’t
correspond to our results, let us know in the comments below. Next, well take a look at the viewing angles. If you don’t watch from directly in front
of the screen, its still important that the image remains accurate when viewed at an angle. In the case of the 6 SERIES 2019, and in fact
all the TVs here that have a VA type panel, the viewing angles are poor. VA panels cant normally deliver good viewing
angles, TVs like the LG SM9000 with IPS panels would be better options if viewing angles
are most important to you. Nonetheless, the TCL 6 SERIES 2019 has similar
viewing angles to the M Series Quantum 2019 which are some of the better results for VA
TVs. The 6 SERIES 2019 has seemingly taken a step
backwards in terms of reflection handling. We measure the amount of light reflected off
the screen, both directly and indirectly, using a light sphere and a Konica Minolta
Luminance Meter. The TCL 6 SERIES 2019 reflects more light
than last years 6 series and any of these other models. If you watch TV in an average-to-bright-lit
room, the TCL will be a little disappointing. The brightness of the display should counteract
glare a bit, but for bright rooms the H9F will be a better choice. The addition of the quantum dot backlight
has made a significant improvement to the 6 series’ color gamut and color volume. A wide color gamut is important for producing
vivid color in HDR content. The DCI-P3 color space, which is used by most
commercial blu-rays, is almost completely filled and there is big improvement in the
coverage of the Rec. 2020 color space. This puts it in the same high-performing category
as some of the more expensive sets from Sony, LG, and Samsung, as well as the Vizios including
the M Series Quantum 2019, which also added the Quantum Dot backlight this year. The color volume is good too, producing more
saturated shades of color than last years model at different brightness levels. Now this next part is becoming increasingly
important but is a little complicated. We measure the electro-optical transfer function
of each HDR TV. This is how a TV receives the HDR signal and
translates it to specific brightness, and this graph shows if the TV can follow the
reference standard that content is mastered at. The reference curve is the yellow line you
see here. This reference line is unachievable by any
TV at the moment, so every TV has a way to tone map the signal to the display’s capabilities,
and that is the gray line you see here. The R625 doesn’t follow it as accurately
as last years R617 but still does a better job than the Hisense H9F. The Vizio is good but doesn’t have the peak
brightness to compete with these other two. If you care about watching a movie as accurately
as the director intended, the TCL 6 SERIES 2018 is probably still the better bet for
you as it handles the EOTF very well. Otherwise the 6 SERIES 2019 is still a good
choice. Let’s move on to the motion handling of
the R625. First, we’ll start with the response time
which is the time it takes for a single pixel to change color. The TCL R625 has a good response time, but
some darker scenes will have very long transitions, causing visible ghosting. The TCL 6 SERIES 2019 also has a constant
backlight flicker of 960Hz which on this TV results in noticeable duplications and artifacts
in some content and it cant be disabled. You can see the duplications in the motion
blur photo here. If you want to clear up the persistence blur,
you can enable the LED Motion Clarity option which is the Black Frame Insertion feature. This lowers the flicker to 60Hz which can
be bothersome for some people but clears up the motion considerably. Unfortunately, there are still some visible
duplications. Next we’ll look at the input lag which is
especially important for gamers. Its important because input lag is the time
it takes an action in-game to appear on the screen. High input lag can cause mistiming of key
moments and can be incredibly distracting. The 6 SERIES 2019 has amazing low input lag. It has an input lag in 1080p, 1440p, and 4k
games around 11ms, and is 13ms in 4k HDR. The 6 SERIES 2019 has a better input lag than
the other 3 TVs here which is great. The TCL 6 SERIES 2019 accepts 120Hz signals
but is a 60Hz TV so it cant display 120Hz content properly, as it skips every other
frame. Alright, moving on to the smart features. The 6 SERIES 2019 uses the Roku smart platform
which is great. It is easy to use and has a wide range of
apps to choose from. Unfortunately, there are large ads on the
home screen which cannot be disabled. The remote also features a voice command feature
so some settings and functions can be controlled with your voice, such as opening YouTube or
checking the time. There are also 4 dedicated app buttons that
help you jump straight into an app, but they arent reprogrammable. The speakers that come integrated in the 6
SERIES 2019 are okay. They are a definite improvement over last
years R617 thanks to the lower low-frequency-extension as well as a slightly higher max volume. It also features Dolby Atmos decoding, but
you will not get the true effect of Atmos through the two tiny speakers. If you want better sound for movies, dialog,
or to get a true Atmos soundstage, discrete home theatre speakers or soundbars, which
we now review on our website, are recommended. So overall, the TCL 6 SERIES 2019 is a good
4k HDR TV with awesome picture quality. It a small step up over last years R617, sporting
an improved design. In terms of picture quality, it has an improved
local dimming feature and better black uniformity, making it the better dark room performer. Unfortunately, for those of you in a bright
room, it has worse reflection handling and doesn’t get as bright as the R617, so it
might not be the best choice for you. If we compare the Hisense H9F to the TCL R625,
they are similar in many ways but do differ slightly. The Hisense has a 120Hz panel and can interpolate
motion up to 120fps. The TCL is limited to 60fps because of its
60Hz panel. The Hisense also handles motion better, having
a better response time and less distracting duplications. Both TVs are great for gamers because of their
low input lag, but those of you in brighter rooms will prefer the H9F because of its better
reflection handling. Last but not least, compared to the Vizio
M Series Quantum 2019 they both perform very similarly besides one key aspect: brightness. The TCL R625 is noticeably brighter in both
SDR and HDR content. If brightness isn’t important to you, they
both have similar local dimming performance, uniformity, color gamut, and color volume. The TCL R625 will be a slightly better TV
for most people because of the similar performance and better Smart System, and gamers will appreciate
its excellent low input lag. If you only care about watching movies, both
will be great sets so pick up whichever you can find for the lowest price. So that’s all for the 2019 TCL 6 series! What do you think of it? Do you feel it has lived up to the hype? Leave us a comment down below to let us know
what you think. You can check out all of the measurements
for all of these TVs on our website. If you want access to all our latest test
results before they are officially published, become an insider on the website. Don’t forget to subscribe to our channel
and hit the notification bell to be alerted for all our new videos. One last thing, I promise. We are currently hiring in our offices in
Montreal for various positions. So, if you want to help people find the best
product for their needs, have a look at the careers page on our website. Thank you very much for watching and see you
next time.

Author:

100 thoughts on “TCL 6 Series/R625 2019 TV Review – RTINGS.com”

  • I have the 2018 and it's a pretty good tv for the price. You can definitely see the vignetting in the corners on the new model like you can on the 2018 🙁

  • ThunderStruckCoach says:

    With the feet installed, how much clearance is there between the bottom of the TV and whatever it is sitting on? ( an accurate measurement is much appreciated! )

  • therealchickentender says:

    Awesome TV. I had mine for about 2 1/2 weeks. For just about everything I threw at it I was very impressed. No DSE. Incredible pop. HDR content was wonderful and the blacks were out-of-this-world. But I returned it… for gaming (XBox One X in my case) the input lag, like you mention, is stellar, but the duplications during motion (especially the three I play most in 1st or 3rd person game, RDR2 primarily) was so bad and distracting that it gave me motion sickness. I tried over and over and played with settings for days and finally gave up. The game looked amazing (as did everything else) as long as I was stationary or slow panning. Was really bummed but I couldn't live with it.

  • See them in stores next to Samsung, Vizio, Sony.. and they don't compare. Yea, they are cheap and the picture is too. Stop misleading viewers.

  • TCL raising the bar for budget TVs and helping customers all around the world. After some research though the H9F doesnt seem to support 120hz signals. False advertising?

  • For the people who have an Xbox and the TCL R617 or this year's R625. Is there anyway when you turn on the Xbox that the TCL will switch on to that input? Or does it not have that feature?

  • I was waiting to see this before pulling the trigger. I think I'll go with the Vizio M Quantum to replace my last remaining HDTV.

  • After merely 3 weeks with this tv,the tv wouldn't load the OS and I had to call tcl for on-site repair service.If you don't want the hassle of exchanging TV's or prefer to have a TV for long term,I would stick to the reliable brands like Samsung and Sony.

  • I think I’ll stick with my r617 since what I care about most bright highlights in hdr is still better that this years plus I just got it in May and they announced the 2019 model months after kinda salty tho lol but I’m good

  • Probably going to have to get the Hisense 9H because of the 120Hz panel….because both Sony & Microsoft have announced games coming to NextGen running at 120Hz.

  • Ive been wondering abt TCLs.. they are very reasonable around black friday.. I actaully Prefer as glossy as i can get becuz i dont watch tv in the daytime and when i do watch its in a basement hometheater with no reflections..the glossy screens look infinitely better, deeper, more vivid and rich than the satin screens.

  • I'm glad I didn't buy a TCL TV and bought the Samsung NU8000! 120hz panel, FreeSync and ALLM is all I need for gaming on my Xbox1X! When is TCL gonna make a 120hz panel and not have DSE and a panel lottery? I almost fell for TCL's Bullshit!

  • I returned my 55” 2018 model for a full refund (in store). It had a glitch at the top of the screen. I had a an extended warranty at Best Buy, so I basically got to use the 2018 TV for about a year and get a free upgrade to this year‘s model. I can’t say that I’m disappointed. Last years TV was excellent (defects and all). I was waiting for this new TV to finally come out! 🎉

  • Do a test on the tcl 55X4US has massive input lag in hdr mode, and when you complain to them they send out a technician, that changers the parts but the tv has the same problem, then they denied it and say there is nothing wrong with it, and ignore you ! Now I’m stuck with a tv you can’t play hdr games worst company ever

  • The design is better than last year??? I guess making ugly legs and making it 2 inches fatter is a good thing now. God could you guys seem anymore like you were bribed lol

  • Game genie Prime says:

    I just received this tv and man it's really really nice if you haven't bought a qled yet this one is outstanding you will see a huge difference from you last model led tv the picture is nice coming out the box games look fantastic and can make everything pop I need to do more movies but cartoons look tremendous if you don't know anything the viewing angles on the 55 I own aren't as bad as I thought and it really looks a lot better in the dark now if you're not technical and just go off the eye test it passes with an A- imo I'm very happy with this tv I will admit the review is spot on if you purchase I believe you'll be very happy with the 6 series

  • I absolutely hate how they use fake refresh rates on tv marketing. I wanted that TCL but refresh rate is low. Do you know of a good tv with a native 120hz panel under 1,000?

  • Amazing and detailed review like always 🙂

    I am just wondering how does this model compare with TCL P8S model? I want to buy best budget 4k HDR tv for gaming and the model reviewed is not available in Australia, however, P8S is easily available here. Thank you.

  • I have the 65 inch 6 series. Picture is awesome but TV constantly crashed and tcl support has done nothing. Xfinity app shits down my TV and reboots it as does Netflix. No app should turn off your TV! Horrible by tcl

  • Buyer beware. TCL has a reputation for quality control issues. DSE, vertical banding, poor uniformity can be an issue. I had a TCL 65" 6 series for exactly 24 hours before I returned it. The DSE was unbearable. You're playing the panel lottery with these budget brands. Buck up and spend an extra $100 and get a Samsung or Sony. My Samsung has PERFECT uniformity (plus a TRUE 120hz refresh rate.)

    Ratings does give thorough reviews though.

  • The funny thing about all these TV's is you would think going forward one of the key things would be to perform in bright rooms as most of the time people are putting a high price tv in their living room which is bright

  • I AM WAITING FOR BLK FRIDAY & HOLIDAY SALES GETTING 2019/R625/ 55 & 65 INCH BOTH TOGETHER ABOUT THOUSAND DOLLARS OR $1100 MAX … WILL SEE FINGER CROSS, BESIDE THAT FUCK IT, GET SOMETHING ELSE!

  • Whatsnewsisyphus says:

    It would be great to add a hdr image tile to show the apparent image quality difference between TVs. Something like the dpreview studio comparison for cameras. Without such an image, it is very difficult (since you don't include a luminance spread per color in the calibration) to compare tvs. For example, the h9f is pretty bad with darker colors in DV, desaturating and banding on the green side, flattening out skin tones. Vizio M punches above its weight in this field, and it makes a world of difference for home theater style critical viewing. I'd be curious to know how the r625 does. Just keep a camera on the same settings.

  • It would be great if you could do a video of which TV is best to get during black friday for under 500. Anyways, thank you for making this video

  • well I BOUGHT VIZIO Model:M558-G1 instead of this 90 local dimming zones & UltraBright 600 for $480 on blk Friday weeks sales & LOVE IT deep inky blk nice bright vivid pic..very good TV

  • Dokter Kattenbakvulling says:

    Great review, the white dot spinny thing is something I never saw and really illustrative of how ambient dynamic dimming works.

  • I got this exact TCL TV to replace a near top-of-the-line 65" Sony Bravia that died (and we had the Geek Squad warranty) in less than 30 months. Sony and Andriod really sucks for tuning. TCL is much better and much less expensive. We love this TV.

  • I got an R617 variant at Costco for Black Friday and while the HDR looks amazing in dark scenes the blacks are crushed significantly, much more noticeably than on, for example, an iPhone XS. Trying to work through the recommended settings but it is very distracting. Does the 625 have the same issue? I have found little on the 617 either

  • Meanwhile another YouTube review (Digital Trends) I watched said the 6 series from last year was better than this year (2019) They were pretty adamant about it. Who to believe?? The older version is cheaper and I'm looking to buy.

  • Can someone tell us if TCL "S6500 series" produced in Pakistan (also available in India & Australia) have the same specifications as the US S625 series (ESPECIALLY IN TERMS OF PICTURE QUALITY/sound is not so important because we can always install a soundbar or external amps connected to SAT receiver).
    Remark: the only information available is that the that "S6500 series" sets come with an "A+ Panel". So what does it mean: is this a genuine VA panel (good contrast+good blacks) or a cheap crap panel for poor countries ????.
    Thanks in advance.

  • Without a doubt the best reviews I've ever seen. You guys are extremely thorough. Keep up the great work! Do you guys have a suggestion regarding best tv for high fps pc gaming on a limited budget?

  • Cincinnati Crusader says:

    Yea buy TCL if you only want to watch it work for a year maybe just buy LG, Samsung, anything is better even no tv is better than TCL….

  • Can the white balance be calibrated with an "advanced" menu option? I don't know that I'd buy a TV that couldn't as this is the first thing that I do with my Xrite.

  • Someone help.. I'm getting either the R625 or the H9F specifically for gaming. Should I go with the H9f cuz it's 120hz and gets brighter? Also thinking about the new xbox next year ..

  • Anyone who needs to use the TV on a narrow stand can pick up on of these stands. This is just the model I choose but there are other options. I have no affiliations here. https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F183813788781

  • Will HD look better on a UHD TV or is it just the same as if
    you had a 1080p TV? And if I already have a Roku Ultra and setup a 55 TCL QLED
    Roku TV will I have to make another account to get it running or can I just
    plug in the Ultra?

  • TCL needs to stop using 60 hertz panels.TCL is advertising some of its televisions alongside claims of a 120Hz CMI – that is, “clear motion index” – and “Natural Motion 240.” Reports have surfaced that phrases like “clear motion index” and “natural motion” are fake marketing terms used to inflate true refresh rates

  • Not impressed with any tcl I've seen horrible motion, pictures not good, cannot fathom why this is not Recognized by many reviewers. This is not a premium brand poor quality in nearly every aspect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *